What's new
What's new

Haas VF-1 12/91 monitor and control not working

craft59

Plastic
Hi everyone, I have a small shop in Clearwater, FL, I have been a machinist since 1977, still learning. My Haas has been running great, until last week when I powered up and the monitor and keyboard don't work. The monitor has a green light, but no image. I plugged in a new monitor and even swapped out the video board, but still nothing. All fuses are good, no error lights on. I unplugged connections at all boards and plugged back in. Without the monitor I can't read any alarms :confused: I thought I would try Practical Machinist before I call in a Haas tech. Any Ideas would be appreciated. Thanks Lyle

Hi everyone, I have a small shop in Clearwater, FL, I have been a machinist since 1977, still learning. My Haas has been running great, until last week when I powered up and the monitor and keyboard don't work. The monitor has a green light, but no image. I plugged in a new monitor and even swapped out the video board, but still nothing. All fuses are good, no error lights on. I unplugged connections at all boards and plugged back in. Without the monitor I can't read any alarms :confused: I thought I would try Practical Machinist before I call in a Haas tech. Any Ideas would be appreciated. Thanks Lyle

Check your low voltage power going to the processor stack; + & - 12vdc and +5vdc going to the 3 pcb's at upper left corner of cabinet. Look for power led's illuminated. The middle pcb should be your video board.

When I thought I had lost a monitor, it turned out to be the AT style PC power supply in the back cabinet had fried itself, due to a non-functional fan. I guess we're supposed to check that that fan keeps spinning. Oops :D

Can't remember if the monitor LED went out, but I had no video with the old or a new monitor until I replaced that power supply.