What's new
What's new

HAAS ST-30 info. New to Haas & need some tips

guitarcode

Plastic
I can power machine all the way up & zero all the axis only to get a "no zero z" even after I get the z to move. I have many years experience on older okuma's up to the osp 70000 series but no exp on haas. Is there a sensor I'm missing? I even turned the ball screw to make it zero but after restart it doesn't read zero, wtf? This is a very basic machine & I feel like I'm missing something. Any input will be very much helpful:)

I can power machine all the way up & zero all the axis only to get a "no zero z" even after I get the z to move. I have many years experience on older okuma's up to the osp 70000 series but no exp on haas. Is there a sensor I'm missing? I even turned the ball screw to make it zero but after restart it doesn't read zero, wtf? This is a very basic machine & I feel like I'm missing something. Any input will be very much helpful:)

When you home the machine with POWER UP RESTART, does it complete the home sequence? Or does it stop and give you the "no zero Z"? Do you get any alarms?

If it completes the homing process without alarming but gives the "no zero z" while jogging, then you may have a chip or something triggering the home switch when the machine is not expecting to see the toggle. You could also have a break in the switch cable or loose connection. Any of those scenarios will give the "no zero z" message.

Good luck!

Thank you sir!!! I was suspicious if there was something like that happening. Everything is working fine & NO alarms until I try to jog the z. X is fine it's just the z & b axis on the tail stock that do that. I'll have my machine guy do a complete once over on all the parts to see if we can find the culprit. YOU HAVE MADE MY DAY:D

P.S. Could it be a servo issue, if nothing is found? This is a used machine purchased at an auction so I have no history on this machine. Again thank you very much for your input....