What's new
What's new

Haas ST10 Tool and Work offset setting Review

Hey G

Plastic
Need a little help...I am setting up a guide for my students and I am creating this hand out. I will have three students on each machine and I wrote this so they don't have to touch off every tool when they put a new part in. I will have each student assigned their own offset...G54,G55,G56. So they can get on the machine and establish the Z face and go. I have about 6 years haas lathe experience, just want to make sure this hand out is making sense...at home on a Saturday. Also, these machines do not have the pre-setter...these are budget friendly school models...lol. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

HAAS LATHE TOOL TOUCH OFF
- Press “HOME G28”, then perform tool change to needed tool.
- Move tool toward chuck face and touch off on metal shim.
- Ensure the Tool Offset page is active, and cursor is in the active tool geometry column and Press “Z FACE MESUR”
- Then enter the compensation amount of your metal shim…e.g. “-.005” Press “WRITE/ENTER”
- Now your Tool offset Z is set
*Center Cutting Tool- If you are setting up a drill (or any center cutting tool) press the F2 button on the X column, to set X. This sets the X for any center cutting tool.
*Turning Tools- Now move to the OD of the part and make a light cut to true-up the part.
- Without moving the X, press the “X DIA MESUR” button, then type in your actual diameter of the part.
- These steps will be the initial set-up for each tool. Next we will set G54.

HAAS LATHE G54 WORKPIECE OFFSET
- Perform these steps when changing a workpiece to establish new Z0.
- Clamp new part in the chuck.
- Use any previously set tool, move toward the part, and take a light cut to clean-up the face.
- On the control, move your cursor to the Z column on the G54 work offset page…ensure you are on the work offset page!
- Press “Z FACE MESUR” to set new G54 Z0 position.
- Ensure that the X column on this page remains at ZERO!