What's new
What's new

Help adjusting Y position after the 1st part is ran

jdmorgan

Plastic
Hi, I am pretty new to operating/setting up CNC machines. I run a HAAS VF 40. I tend to get a little confused when adjusting my Y after the first part has been ran. Can anyone explain this to me I work in a small shop. Im the only white guy with about 4 Mexican guys (great guys) and there is a bit of a communication barrier. I get that there is an imagined O with a +/- side. I believe toward the back is the - side and toward the front is the + side. Lets say I ran my first part and checked it. The part is supposed to have a hole directly in the middle of the part. After using my calipers I realize the hole is off a little. It seems to be a little more to the back of the machine. I know to get my reading on the caliper say it's .30 out of spec I would divide by 2 that would make the number .15 I guess my question is would I add or subtract the .15 to my work offset in the machine? If anyone happens to have any tips or internet resources to make this a little less confusing they would be greatly appreciated!

You would subtract the amount you want to move. The numbers displayed in the work offset register are the distance from machine zero. Example -20.000 - .02 = -20.020

Depends on the machine. On my Brother Speedio, "0" is at the back edge of the table, far right. Everything is negative from there. If the work offset is, say, -10.000, -5.000, and the hole is closer to the front edge by .015", then the Y offset is "too negative". To fix this, I would add +.015" to the Y offset (make the Y offset less negative).

It takes a few (dozen for me) iterations before this becomes 2nd nature.

Regards.

Thanks a lot man this is very helpful. The guys that I work with are great but there is a bit of a language barrier so instead of teaching me and explaining they just kinda do it for me and I want to do it myself lol