What's new
What's new

How to "drip feed" a program into a 2001 VF3?

comp 670

Aluminum
Hi, I am extremely new to the cnc world and have a program that is too large to go on a floppy to load into my 2001 VF3. The cnc also would not have enough memory for the program even if the floppy was big enough. I'm told to "drip feed" the program to the cnc but I'm clueless on how this works. I did find two "serial ports" on the back of the VF3, do I use one of those? I also need to know what to buy for my computer to hook the cable up to.

I have a 2001 Haas VF3 with a floppy disk setup and a LG desktop computer that I run Gibbs 2016 with.

Could someone walk me thru how to set this up and what I will need to buy?

Please understand I suck at computers.. ( I know, pretty stupid to try and run a cnc with limited computer knowledge but I'm slowly learning)...

Do you have a manual? You really need to read the communications section, it is all in there. Much too complicated to write it all down here. Look on-line for RS232 cables and you'll find in in various lengths. You probably have a 9 pin port on your computer and the machine is 23 pin.

Once you have the cable, we can walk you through set-up.

I also believe a floppy will hold much less information that the memory of your machine. When you list your programs on the control, how much free memory does it say you have?

Oh, and yes you will use serial port #1 to send and receive programs and to run DNC (direct numerical control/ drip feed) from your computer.

More information---Mike

No, the machine did not have a manual when I got it. If I fill the floppy up (1.44MB) the machine will not accept it. It will only accept 1.0MB or less. And thats only if there are no programs at all in the machine.

I will go online and try and find a manual for sale. I think I can read them on the Haas site too.

Thanks for the help and info.

Agree, I think the manuals are on the Haas site.