What's new
What's new

Programmable coolant not going to programmed position

Ludasmith

Cast Iron
I have a 2002 VF3 with the programmable coolant. On the tool offset page, I also put in the position number for the coolant. But, when the program runs the nozzle goes to position 1. I can't remember if it stays where put with a tool change or if it goes back to position 1, I can look Monday if that's important.

When I do the power up restart upon firing the machine up, the coolant nozzle does not home out (not sure if it is supposed to or not with the PUR). It does home when I press coolant up. It works fine when I press the coolant up and down buttons. Everything I've Google'd and found was people having issues with it hunting, or going all the way up or down. This one works fine other than not going to the position specified on the offsets page.

I'm new to running a Haas, so I very well could just be doing something wrong. I'm assuming I am since it otherwise works okay.

Any ideas?

If it's moving up from a low position it usually is lower than program position. Use a value that correts it.

If moving with keyboard avoid pressing too many times to get in position - beep, beep, beep. Not beepbeepbeepbeep..

If it's really random and inconsistent. Remove it and take off cover. Coolant can weep inside and gum up the microswitch. Clean with isopropanol.

P-Cool will move to Coolant position inserted on your offset page when called, ie G43 H1.
BUT the first time a coolant position is called, the nozzle will first go Home (furthest Up position) then clock in incrementally.

Each H call will add or subtract a position based on number entered in Offset.

Manual Keyboard will override H coolant position then revert back to Offset coolant position on next call.