What's new
What's new

Questions tips on setting up a Haas TM1 VMC??

bellinoracing

Hot Rolled
Well I finally made a deal for a Haas TM1 vmc machine today so now I am nervous about getting it unloaded, set up, and running. I have a buddy thats a master electrician so getting it wired shouldn't be a problem. We will be wiring it to run single phase so hopefully it likes that as much as it likes three phase. I plan to unload it myself with a rented 5,000 lb fork lift, I was just told to make sure it has 6' forks. I am going to have to squeeze it through a 7' high door which I was told can be done but it will be tight.

Any tips for me so far?

Now for the questions...How do I level it? I can throw a carpenters level on the table but I doubt thats going to be accurate enough.

I plan to get a filter and water trap for the air line but what specifically should I get? To my understanding some machines run air through the spindle bearings and some don't. Its important for all machines to have clean dry air but thats especially important if they put air through the spindle bearings. Do these TM1s push air through the spindle bearings?

Finally coolant. What do I need and where do I get it? Most people agree blaser swisslube is good, I have never used anything but that so I wouldnt know if there was anything better. I heard liquid ice was good as well. Where do you buy coolant? I havent seen anything but cheap off brands sold through MSC and enco. Hopefully I can buy just 1 gallon of coolant, I think that would be more than enough for me for a while.

Thanks for any comments

I believe HAAS claims the machine does not need to be leveled to a high degree of precision such as its larger brothers, but I do not believe that. Level it to .0005" / 12" with a machinists level.