What's new
What's new

Sl vs Gt lathes

MBG

Hot Rolled
what is the difference in the slant lathe series for the GT (chucker) lathes?

Besides the obvious like spinde speed and the ability to have live tooling.

Gt vs sl

Hi,

I am no expert but I believe that you will get more Z travel on the SL than the GT series. A friend of mine has a GT10 and it has limited Z axis travel. I believe the GT 20 has a little more Z travel and I think it requires 3 phase and the GT10 will run on single phase. The SL has more rotary stations on the turret.

I think HAAS is phasing out the SL series of lathes and replacing them with the ST series.

If you go to the HAAS website you will be able to easily determine the available options for each series.

John

The GT isn't really a chucker...I think the chucker is the TL.

The TL (Toolroom lathe) is a conventional lathe design with CNC Motor driven axis and Ball Screws.
Chips fall on saddle, no enclosure so Flood coolant becomes a feel mess...even at low speeds. Single tools on a post. I think the programming is more conversational with canned cycles.

From what I was able to tell...the GT series was an SL series and they removed everything except the Spindle and the XZ Travel. They come with a manual chuck...guess thats why we think Chucker...

I believe your supposed to use as a gang tool machine...but the X Axis is limited in motion so only a few tools or you need to get creative.

In the right situation I can see where it could be a handy tool...Single Billets chucked with a few operations you get alot of machine at a good price...but for me I need flexibility and need to automate for Bar feeding...by the time I added an automatic collet system and a turret for more tools, an auger, coolant I was getting into the SL Series...the now ST Series.

Actually, what I really would like to know is what the purpose of the GT lathe is period?