What's new
What's new

Squaring a VF2 and Vf3 table?

Janz99

Plastic
We have a vf2 and vf3 at work, and when we put a granite square on the tables, they are out .003 and .006 over aprox 20". We'd like to try and adjust the tables, so we're looking for any advice we can get since I've never done it before, and we cant get a hold of the service guy that came in and did it last time.

I should mention, both machines are early 2000's.

Thanks
Ryan

We have a vf2 and vf3 at work, and when we put a granite square on the tables, they are out .003 and .006 over aprox 20". We'd like to try and adjust the tables, so we're looking for any advice we can get since I've never done it before, and we cant get a hold of the service guy that came in and did it last time.

Thanks
Ryan

Use a precision and level "THE MACHINE!!" The table will be fine. Use all 6 feet and make it level with equal weight on the four corners at least and also some one the middle feet.

Use a level of about .0005" per 10" or better.

Mike

Put an indicator in the spindle.

Move it to one corner of the table, zero the indicator. I also mark zero on the table with a sharpe so I don't get lost.

Move the table under the indicator to each corner and take a reading. Again I write it on the table.

As you adjust the feet the table will square up under the indicator, Just like your indicating a fixture in vise jaws, in this case you would use a shim to bring a corner up, or your dead blow to seat it better. Same principle. But now your shims are the feet on the machine.

Go slow, make a move with the feet, then check all four corners again. rewrite your new values on the table. Repeat.

Your total indicator reading should be .0005 or less, when you get there lock the feet down with the jam nuts, and recheck.

Level isn't important, it just dictates which way the coolant is going to flow in the bottom of the bed.