What's new
What's new

1981 - Shizuoka B3-V Slideway Condition

pbrubaker

Aluminum
Hey all,

I'm back with more of my Shizuoka VMC. I finally got the machine cleaned up, and took some measurements and photographs of the ways. Let me preface that this is my first rebuild (and definitely not the last,) I have spent a fair amount of time researching the subject, but I'm still a noob.

I could use some help assessing the condition of the slideways, and whether or not they need to be repaired. And also, if it doesn't require repair should I just go through with a grind/slideway material because I have it all apart, and there will be added benefits to using a bearing material.

Lets get to the meat. Here is a gallery of the shots I took during disassembly and cleaning. Coolant infiltration was a big problem that I intend to fix. There are many ways to improve the drainage and keep it off the machine.

Way Condition Gallery

Second, here are some detailed shots of each slideway and the corresponding measurements I took. Also I will list the things that are bothering me with each way and specific questions with regards to them.

IMG_0333(1).jpg

Bed WaysLeft WayRight Way
E2->E1E1E2E3->E2E2->E3E3E4E3->E4Surface Variation
0.0001-0.0001-0.0003-0.0001-0.0001-0.0001-0.0002-0.0006-0.0002-0.0001Max0.00010
0.00020-0.0004-0.00030.00010.0001-0.0003-0.0007-0.0003-0.0002Min-0.0005-0.0007
0.0001-0.0001-0.0004-0.00030.00010.0001-0.0004-0.0006-0.0003-0.0003Average-0.000188889-0.0003
0.0001-0.0001-0.0005-0.000300-0.0004-0.0006-0.0003-0.0003
0.0001-0.0001-0.0004-0.000300-0.0003-0.0005-0.0002-0.0003Parallelism
00-0.0003-0.0002-0.0002-0.0001-0.0003-0.0004-0.0002-0.0002Max0.0002
0-0.0002-0.0002-0.0002-0.0001-0.0002-0.0004-0.00020-0.0001Min-0.0003
0-0.0002-0.00030.000100-0.0002-0.0003-0.00010Average-0.00004
000.00010000-0.000100(Datum)