What's new
What's new

Cleaning up an old Matsuura CNC mill, lube lines might be plugged.

AnWFL

Plastic
Hello everyone, hoping I can get some advice.

Way TL;DR: One shot lube system on Matsuura MC-500V might be clogged. Wondering how to check and fix without taking the whole mill apart.

For a bit of context, I have no real experience with CNC equipment (or milling machines in general for that matter). I started by getting an old (but in great condition) Clausing gearhead lathe a couple of years ago and using that for awhile before looking for a mill. Last year, things worked out such that I decided to skip a possibly more reasonable Bridgeport > CNC progression, and go straight to CNC. I managed to get a 1980 Matsuura MC-500V last summer (all this is purely for private purposes, thus the old but cheap CNC mill). It ended up sitting untouched for a year due to other issues.

However, as of last weekend, I hooked it up and it powered on and appears to work. Pretty sweet seeing it finally run. I didn't run any parts or anything, just jogged stuff around and tested the control (an old YASNAC 3000G, I come way after the punch tape era so that was interesting to see...). Anyway, while I have definitely seen pictures of dirtier machines, this one isn't great, to say the least, so I currently have all the easy to take off bits removed for a bit of cleaning.

Here is the problem. I'm not sure the one shot lube system is fully functional. I assumed that since it sat for a year the lube lines had somewhat drained, but I have been pumping the lube system manual pump each evening for a few days now and have yet to see any oil coming out in the axis gear drive boxes. I know some things are getting oil since the y-axis ballscrew nut has started leaking oil but I can't really get to a lot of spots to check.