What's new
What's new

Getting started with my first project.

Daveinjax

Plastic
I'm brand new to machine work and I've been buying equipment for a home shop that is mainly for gunsmithing but there will be plenty of other things to do. I just purchased a U.S. Burke Millrite vertical mill. It was a bargain at a garage sale @$300 but I knew it had wear. Power feed on the X axis and ran well. The Y axis ways are heavily worn and the table needs some TLC also. I bought it with the intention of rebuilding it. I also purchased a Colchester Clausing Student 2500 that needs some work in the feed gearbox. I'm pretty sure it's swelled cams.
With those projects in mind my question is what tools do I need to start collecting ? Nothing in this hobby is cheap and I started life with next to nothing and still have most of it left ! I need to have a list I can work from to hunt deals. Once I have tools and the shop built I plan to attend one of Mr King's classes. Thanks for any help.

I would suggest you start watching You Tube scraping shows. Buy or make a hand scraper with a carbide blade. I prefer the BIAX and 3/4" Sanvik style. A diamond wheel lapper that you make or buy, Get a A or AA grade surface plate as big as you can afford. Read this forum as we give all sorts of info. A chunk of Cast Iron to practice on. I use Canode Ink as it is easy to wash off, a small ink roller, a med grit Indian stone, dull smooth cut file. There are a couple of DVD's sold on Ebay you can buy and the Machine Tool Reconditioning book. A good vise to hold your practice plate and a good LED light. Rich

Rich pretty much covered it. If money is tight you have enough equipment now to be able to make pretty much everything and it won't cost you much at all.