What's new
What's new

New Granite Square

Pete Deal

Titanium
I just replaced the Y axis slides on my cnc mill and wanted a precise square to check the square of the axis. I wound up buying a 6x10 chicom square, which seems pretty good really. Then I found a 18x12x3 Mojave Granite square on ebay for $175 but pickup only. Just for the heck of it I asked the guy if he would ship and he said he would. Shipping only $65. Anyway, I couldn't resist! Seemed like a great deal. Came today and condition seems perfect. Accuracy is supposed to be .0001" in 12"

Granite Square.jpg

I don't know yet but will check them. I went a little overboard in the square department in the last few weeks and also bought a nice polish cylinder square on ebay. I am new to all this but when I put the cylinder square up to the chicom square i see no light at all top to bottom. I will indicate between the two granite squares and see how they compare- that should do it right?

Speaking of paper feelers, I've finally found some that I REALLY like. White "pastry tissues" (aka "doughnut tissues") that my wife's favorite bakery uses to keep sales-clerk fingers off of the goodies when bagging them. They're translucent white, a skosh over 0.001 inch thick, very uniform and strong, and impregnated with a "dry wax" that makes them ever-so-slightly slick, not sticky.