What's new
What's new

Newbie Scraping a mini Mill

radiocontrolhead

Aluminum
Hey all.

Quick question. Am I out of my mind for trying to bring the 4 raised blocks on the base down to the same level by means of filing? I do not have access to a mill or a grinder at this time (will grind the other 3 blocks using a powered grinder).

My real questions, without a mill to bring all 4 blocks to within a scraping tolerance (say a thou) am I in over my head to rough scrape to where i need to be or will i be chasing my tail.

I'm really new to this whole thing and I wanted to get started on the project and may have jumped the gun a bit too early.

The idea was to great a much more uniform and even bearing surface instead of just the 4 tiny blocks that the column sits on.

Thank you all for your help.

Again, I'm a newbie and appreciate your patience and input!

image1.jpg

Hey all.

Quick question. Am I out of my mind for trying to bring the 4 raised blocks on the base down to the same level by means of filing? I do not have access to a mill or a grinder at this time (will grind the other 3 blocks using a powered grinder).

My real questions, without a mill to bring all 4 blocks to within a scraping tolerance (say a thou) am I in over my head to rough scrape to where i need to be or will i be chasing my tail.

I'm really new to this whole thing and I wanted to get started on the project and may have jumped the gun a bit too early.

The idea was to great a much more uniform and even bearing surface instead of just the 4 tiny blocks that the column sits on.

View attachment 217393

?? Are you expecting to cray-glue that toy to a surface plate a foot or more THICK?

Masturbatory, 'coz otherwise what you do is SHIM those feet.

Even if they had arrived perfectly flat and in-plane the surface you mount them to cannot reasonably be expected to be anywhere CLOSE to flat. Nor remain so.

Ouch!!!