What's new
What's new

Novice Australian scraper new to the forum

Marcuschrist

Aluminum
Just thought I'd introduce myself, I'm a 22 year old machinist with a job shop in burliegh on the goldcoast, it's quite a small factory about 140 m² notably with two manual mills(a bridgport clone and a Russian universal heavy duty mill) and a DSG lathe among my other tooling. April of this year I flew over to Denmark to attend Richard Kings scraping class which I thoroughly enjoyed. Since then I've purchased a Biax which is on its way from the states and two large camelback straight edges a 60" & 74" along with a double sided 48" knife edge camelback which I'll be picking up from sydney soon. I've yet to pick out a suitable surface plate and was hoping someone might know of a large broken CMM that I could pillage the granite plate from. I can't imagine there would be many locals interested in starting a hobby machining/scraping/machine rebuilding club but if anyone would like I would be very open to the idea. I generally work in imperial and have a huge array of whitworth, BSF, cycle thread, UNC, UNF, UNEF etc taps and dies so if you're in the area working on an english/american machine feel free to come borrow a tap if needed. I also have a 4.5tonne carhoist here in the shop should anyone need a hand working on their cars , I'm not very inclined to autowork but quite a few of my friend come by and use it as they cannot afford to go to a mechanic.