What's new
What's new

The Role of Stoning in developing Spot pattern

abakker

Plastic
I'm new to scraping, but have attempted to do my homework before asking this question.

When scraping, we are looking for a good pattern of points of contact at 20-14 PPI. for these to be contact points, they need to be slightly proud of the average surface, so that each point is a "peak". (understanding that the actual topography created by scraping is still very flat).

Where I get confused though, is in determining:
1. how large these spots should be? is larger or smaller better?
2. how much does/should stoning process affect the spot pattern?
3. is stoning really lapping the high spots? If so, doesn't the flatness of the stone become critical, or does stoning technique need to make up for this by rotating the stone in some way?

A frequent result of my inexpert scraping is that I end up with large patches of blued surface. Say, 1cm[SUP]2[/SUP], separated by large areas of no contact. I'm assuming that either my scraping marks are too close, or my scraper geometry is not good for the attack angle that I am using on the part. Or I am stoning too much between passes and removing small high spots.

Stoning is more about removing minute burrs from edges of the scraped cavities. Flatness of the stone is not at all critical, and you should not be using enough pressure to remove measurable amount of non-burr surface anyway. Just rub the stone on the work, you are not trying to sand it, grind it, or grain it.

Large patches of blue, with large areas of no contact? You may have specks of dirt on your work or the surface plate. Both must be scrupulously clean before trying to blue the work. Like surgically clean, ignoring the blue pigment. Dirt is especially likely if your large patches move around between scraping passes. If your large patches are always in the same places, it's also possible that you just aren't digging deep enough in your rough scraping passes.