What's new
What's new

scraper shape question for narrow details

Luke Rickert

Hot Rolled
I am a novice scraper and have a course with Richard in April but in the mean time I am working on getting my equipment together. I can at least make and sharpen scrapers and would like to make one for a little exercise I have been working on. It is a drill press vise made from a rough casting. As it does not need to be scraped I think it makes it an ideal project to learn on before I go and mess up my schaublin 135 cross slide etc.

The detail is shown in the attached photos but is basically a 10mm (0.394in) wide flat with a slot on one side and shoulder on the other. Access with the current scrapers I have made is difficult. Do I need one that is very narrow, maybe pull type etc? I don't have to scrape this, I can get a very true and flat finish with my mill that will be more than sufficient for the project but figure I might as well figure out how it is done.

thanks

Luke

Attachments

• IMG_20170301_092811692.jpg
    IMG_20170301_092811692.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 243
  • IMG_20170301_092803867_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20170301_092803867_HDR.jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 257
I think you will need to cut a relief in the inside corners if you want to scrape those surfaces.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am a novice scraper and have a course with Richard in April but in the mean time I am working on getting my equipment together. I can at least make and sharpen scrapers and would like to make one for a little exercise I have been working on. It is a drill press vise made from a rough casting. As it does not need to be scraped I think it makes it an ideal project to learn on before I go and mess up my schaublin 135 cross slide etc.