What's new
What's new

Scraping L shaped straight edge - balance issues

learning80

Plastic
Hi,

I'm new to scraping with only about 30-40 self taught hours under my belt and have a straight edge with an L cross section to scrape in.
The issue I'm having is it spots heavily on the left side of the "L" because that section has more weight over it.
Is there a solution to this sort of thing - to counterweight it?

Also, I've noticed when scraping something flat I introduced a bow. Is this sometimes done by learners? If so, how do you avoid it?
I'm especially curious how you avoid it on things you can't hinge - e.g., ways on machines. I guess you could hinge a straight edge or parallel on the way but what if it was hard to get to or on an angle - a V way?
I believe I introduced a bow tonight by applying some downward pressure while bluing unintentionally, causing a rock. I would then scrape the whole part, including the low area on the end which received blue and gave a false reading. When I was careful about bluing and avoiding downward pressure it spotted up correctly and the low point on the side revealed itself to be low by the blue (it had very little).

Thanks.

Hi,

I'm new to scraping with only about 30-40 self taught hours under my belt and have a straight edge with an L cross section to scrape in.
The issue I'm having is it spots heavily on the left side of the "L" because that section has more weight over it.

Also, I've noticed when scraping something flat I introduced a bow. Is this sometimes done by learners? If so, how do you avoid it?
I'm especially curious how you avoid it on things you can't hinge - e.g., ways on machines. I guess you could hinge a straight edge or parallel on the way but what if it was hard to get to or on an angle - a V way?