What's new
What's new

Shaper Reconditioning Scraping Advice Sought

Lurk

Cast Iron
Hi, please forgive this newbie for such a basic inquiry:-
For the past few months I have been reconditioning a 1955 Elliot 14S shaper - having repaired the broken Bull gear shaft and replaced a few of the bearings in the gear set - I have moved to the Ram Slideways - where there was 0.004" of wear toward the tool head on the horizontal ways.

I am new to scraping and this is my first project - I have basic kit including - a 24x18" AA granite SP, Sandvick Hand scraper and bench grinder for sharpening the Carbide blade. I have been referring to a digital copy of 'Machine Reconditioning' and this forum as far as I can to get the basics in my mind and watching what ever videos I can find on line.

The problem / challenge I now face is in measuring the the angled faces of the Ram (male portion) of the dovetails for wear - to determine the degree of scraping required to bring it back into useful service. I have made a short video of where I am up to and will post the link below.

My initial measurements suggest the central 8" of the Ram slides are lowest points and the outer 9" either side of this central section is between 0.001 & 0.002" higher - they appear to be 'parallel' to each other. This is based off of the freshly scraped base surface measured with the jig in the first video. The previous video in the YouTube series shows my progression with the horizontal ways of the Ram - there were quite a few cock-ups on my part along the way - so its lengthy - but I felt others could gain from my cock ups !).

I would like some advise on the sequence of operation going forward - should I scrape the Ram Dovetails to completion then move onto the main machine body Ram ways using the Ram to print the body ? Or ... ?

Measuring the Ram Angled Faces - Elliot 14 S Update 1 1 - YouTube

Scraping the Horizontal Ram Ways - Elliot 14 S Update 1 - YouTube

Thanks for any advice.

Mat