Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Maryland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Monarchist View Post
    A "show stopper", literally, but no more than that. "Catastrophic" in that case leaves a smidgen of time to shut-down and plan recovery before the damage is severe. May well be a decision taken FOR you by the machine's controls anyway.

Driving a motorcar or flying on airplanes?

"Catastrophic" can be considerably less.. "convenient".
    If noticed sure...I have a B&S Micromaster with an active oiling system that failed and went unnoticed...that is the reason i have it. I assume that on a more intelligent machine there are lockouts that would prevent operating a machine when there is no oil pressure. Kinda made me think about it, i will add it to the B&S.

dee
    ;-D

2. Likes Mark Rand liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by dcsipo View Post
    A pump failure is a catastrophic event on a hydrostatic way while in motion.

dee
    ;-D
    On a rotating bearing, maybe. BIG maybe. On a large grinder, no. The ones I used to be around would shut down if the oil pressure would drop and for a couple of feet or so they were actually well oiled.

It is however an expensive system and ( my opinion only !) not as accurate as one might think. My feeling was that they were not as stiff. But, once settled and taking light cuts a LARGE one is capable of superb accuracy making any delusions of scraping superfluous. That provided the work has been mounted right, something not as trivial as one might believe.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

If noticed sure...I have a B&S Micromaster with an active oiling system that failed and went unnoticed...

dee
    ;-D
    MAJOR design flaw. I'm sure you'll agree.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Monarchist View Post