Order of the Rising Sun
Login to Your Account
Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    western washington state
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

    Default Order of the Rising Sun

    The Order of the Rising Sun was the first Japanese national ceremonial decoration.

    It was created in 1875 by Emperor Meiji

    at least 10 classes of the award have been designated

    recipients include Douglas MAcArthur, Clint Eastwood , and diverse
    heads of state

    but---the award has been given to Japanese machine tool makers

    in 1970 Shinjiro Yasuda is awarded the Fifth Order of the Rising Sun with Twin Lights for his development of boring machine.

    and in 2007 Yukihiko Yasda is awarded The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosette for development and manufacturing of ultrahigh precision machining center

    it is unclear if other Japanese tool makers have been honored with this award
    but it seems to emphasize the importance this nation places on advanced manufacturing

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails emperor-meiji.jpg   ors-1.jpg   yasda.jpg   yasda2.jpg   yasda5.jpg  

  2. Likes ADFToolmaker, JoeE. liked this post


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts