What's new
What's new

Manufacturing Day

toolsteel

Titanium
Today (Oct.6th 2017) is the "official" day of manufacturing day. The company I work for host' an event. Wondering if anyone else is participating. I, along with many of you other old, grumpy bastards occasionally get on my soap box about various topics. Including the youth of today...people don't wanna work....people don't wanna get their hands dirty or sweaty....not enough decent applicants....etc.
Truth be told, I enjoy what I do for a living and like showing others. Hopefully it sparks interest in someone. We have about 100 people coming through today. Majority of them are juniors and seniors in high school.....some are college kids...engineers etc...We will give them a 45 minute or so tour...a little snack....a 5 minute speech smack em on the ass and send em home....
I made sure the High School guidance counselor at the high school near my home is aware of this event. It took me 3 years to finally get them to participate...I had the feeling they didn't want to present an alternative to college for those not inclined to go to college. But I persisted....I believe this is the 3rd year they have sent 30 or so students...

What are you DOING to change the things you bitch about?

Huh....I am a little surprised no one has responded to this. Granted, it is mid day. But I expected a little something. My thoughts on Manufacturing Day....

Many kids in High School have no idea of the different career paths that they might be interested in. If left to guidance counselors, media, part time parents etc.... the paths that do not include college will never be discussed as an option. If we (people in manufacturing) do not explain to young people the possibilities that exist within manufacturing AND ALL TRADES........no one else will.

Huh....I am a little surprised no one has responded to this. Granted, it is mid day. But I expected a little something. My thoughts on Manufacturing Day....