What's new
What's new

Moving to Germany as a machinist?

Autodiattack!

Plastic
Hello, All!
I want your help ironing out my plan for the next three years of my career.

I'm new to the trade. I started as an operator 4 years ago, moved up into mold maintenance, and have had my current position as a Tool Maker I (but really just apprentice) for about a year and a half. I'm obviously still very fresh, but I'm getting better using manual mill, manual lath, EDM, wire, auto and manual surface grinders, and CNC mills every day.

Here's the catch. My dream lies in a completely unrelated career.
If I'm to accomplish my dream (Computaional Neuroscientist) it will mean spending 8 years minimum in school. So I have a choice: signup for a lifetime of debt or go to school in a country which boasts welfare education even for immigrants. I've done the research and Germany is by far the most advantageous country for this approach for many reasons.

Here's my plan

Because of my weak Highschool Diploma I will have to spend two years in a university here before I qualify for any German university. I will spend that time working at my current position and building my experience as a machinist. I will learn to speak German. I will fill my Kennedy with metric equipment and convert my imperial prints into metric before machining. I will research German history and politics and try to learn what it means to be a German citizen.

And then I will move to Germany, possibly for the rest of my life.

So my questions for you:
What are your thoughts on the machining trade in Germany? What should I do to prepare myself? What job would you look for if you were moving to Germany with my limited skills? Is it possible to be a part time CNC operator?

I see a lot of guys on here who deserve respect for the knowledge they've gained over a lifetime of machining. You've probably forgotten more than I'll ever know about machining.

I'm looking forward to your advice.