What's new
What's new

Teaching of Manual Machining Soon to be Forgotten

tjmccoy

Aluminum
Hello All,

I have been lurking on these forums for many months, and I haven't posted much because, well I think it's more productive for me to read than type.

However, I heard some disturbing news recently about Southeast Community College in SE Nebraska (Milford Campus). They have had a very respectable machine tool technology course there for years, and supposedly they are not going to continue teaching manual machining, only CNC.

I fully understand that CNC is the way to go in terms of cutting cycle times and employee fatigue, as well as the overall bottom line, but for people just starting out in the Machinist world, do you guys think it is better to start on the old manual basics before throwing a computer and all their little quirks in the mix?

My training has been with my dad and the little shops I have worked in here and there. I wanted to go the Milford when I graduated high school, but I decided a 4-year school would benefit me more.

Just want to hear some opinions. I know there are folks on both sides of the fence on this issue. Is this a common occurrence all over the country, or is it just confined to the plains states where very few even know what a lathe is? :)

-TMCCOY

Machining is machining is machining, to not teach the manual machines is not that great a detractor from the curriculum in my mind. Any one taught poperly to machine with an nc machine, and not just to be an operator, will not have that difficult a time steping over to a manual to make parts. The set-ups and know how are differen't but that is a learning curve that isn't to steep. Just my $0.02.