What's new
What's new

making stuff in the USA and hitting the wall

kpotter

Diamond
I have been making tools for jewelers for a few years and I do all the work myself in my garage on old manual machines that are fully paid for and using scrap metal when I can and I am still unable to make a decent profit. I survive and I make more than if I had a minimum wage job but not anything close to what would be considered middle class and today one of my retailers told me that I need to think about getting my stuff made in Pakistan so that he can sell it cheaper and we can both make money. I have gotten quotes from suppliers over there through my retailer and I cant even believe the prices they are less than what I pay for scrap steel and even if I got the metal for free I cant match those prices. We are screwed. or I am. I am seeing first hand what everyone bitches about.

I have gotten quotes from suppliers over there through my retailer and I cant even believe the prices they are less than what I pay for scrap steel and even if I got the metal for free I cant match those prices. We are screwed. or I am. I am seeing first hand what everyone bitches about.

This is the problem, you are correct. I have seen this for over fifteen years now. It seems to have started in areas of manufacturing, like four/multi slide work, then injection molding then stamped metal parts bit by bit...