What's new
What's new

WSJ article, Bloomington Ill machine shop

yet another example of a crap company wanting the world of an employee, and offering peanuts in return.....$13/hour for a skilled tradesman??? :nutter:

I suppose $13/hr. is about right. Most places in 'the People's Republic of ILL.' start at $7.00/hr. Why offer more when there are so many out of work? Somewhere someone will jump at the job, the company just has to wait for that guy. Skilled? I wonder how many of those are still around. I would think any skilled are working for themselves or retired. But then, I'm no expert at the things.

I'm not in Utah, so what i say on this may not apply. But $13 an hour for a "skilled tradesman" is an insult. Would be more then a constant struggle to support a small family here, and a small emergency would sink them. The article says that this company would see a 20% increase in sales if they could find the 40 workers needed. So instead of kicking a little of that boost in sales/profits down to its workers, they spend extra money in a training course. I've never felt good about working for a company that "Nickel and dimes" me. The better a company treats it's workers, the better/more work they recieve in return for the wages paid.

I've been out of the trade for many years but it was hard for me to feel bad for the company owner when I saw he was crying about not finding "skilled machinests" for $13 an hour. Did anyone notice his picture? Didn't look like any shortage of food at his house.........Bob

How many years after the training course ends will it be before that employee is "skilled" If all it takes is running a unskilled worker through this course and a few months of polishing, then they dont need highly skilled employees by my definition