What's new
What's new

Machinist Networks - feedback needed

ctaylor

Plastic
Hello,

I have been working as a CNC machinist for about 8 months now, at a smaller shop. There seems to be an immense degree of struggle (amongst even larger shops with 40+ operators/machines) during the quote/contract process. I'm considering designing a site for shops + clients to sensibly, efficiently request quotes, build trust, and contract jobs on a single platform.

My two questions: Would this be something any of you would be interested in? Why, or why not?

Second, what major problems do you think a network like this would face?

Thanks for your time!

My two questions: Would this be something any of you would be interested in? Why, or why not? Second, what major problems do you think a network like this would face?

No. Always more trouble than it's worth, and no one has figured out how to code trust into a digital relationship. Holding money in escrow is one way of going about it, but that also has drawbacks.

Major problems include being lumped in w/MFG.com, easily THE example of what not to do with a platform in this space and how to destroy the reputation of your own company. MakeTime had a website where their goal was to sell excess machine capacity, but I don't hear anything from them anymore (worked with them 3+ years ago).

Summary: major problems in quoting and project management that shops face cannot be solved with an ecommerce network. Job shops are a terrible way to make money, and competing globally or nationally makes the prospect worse due to the nature of that business.

At least once a year we get someone saying they're setting up a website to do exactly what you're proposing. If you took the time to search through here, you'd find them. The basic problem is that what you seek to do almost always promotes a "race to the bottom", and the only one who'll potentially benefit is "you". You being whoever is proposing this at the moment.