What's new
What's new

RFQ - Pinewood Derby Axles

Shawn67

Plastic
Looking for a small project to work on with someone that could grow. I'm starting to sell Pinewood derby parts and need some axles made. Made from Stainless and Very precise and very smooth. I've been racing pinewood derby cars for 4-5 years with my boys in cub Scouts and decided to start up my own website.

Please and Thanks
Shawn

Quantities to start off 500
Axles (like a nail)
made from Stainless Steel
size
length = 1 1/8"
Head = .191"
Diameter 1 = .091"
Diameter 2 = .093"
Head = slightly beveled and rounded

Looking for a small project to work on with someone that could grow. I'm starting to sell Pinewood derby parts and need some axles made. Made from Stainless and Very precise and very smooth. I've been racing pinewood derby cars for 4-5 years with my boys in cub Scouts and decided to start up my own website.

Please and Thanks
Shawn

Quantities to start off 500
Axles (like a nail)
made from Stainless Steel
size
length = 1 1/8"
Head = .191"
Diameter 1 = .091"
Diameter 2 = .093"
Head = slightly beveled and rounded

Shawn

I fondly remember building pinewood derby cars with my sons, and this last Christmass I had the opportunity to help my grandson work on his.

I has been years since I read them but I seem to remember that the rules say you have to use the parts in the kit. Are you sure what you planning is legal?

I think that teaching the boys to file off the heading flanges and smooth the axles is a significant part of the learning process, and you seem to be proposing to do away with that. Are you sure that's a good idea?

If you want to go forward with your idea, you need to: 1) make a drawing with dimensions, and tolerances. Tighter tolerances mean higher price, 2) The tolerances will define the "Very Precise" and a surface finish specification will define the "very smooth". The surface finish will be specified as either uIn or uM, see Surface finish - Wikipedia