What's new
What's new

Jib crane powered rotation?

bsg

Titanium
I have a 1 ton jib crane with a 15' arm, I'm wondering if I need to power the arm to help with positioning, I have never had one in a shop before........I will be using the crane to lift fixtures on and off machines as well as lifting material and chucks on my lathe.
My question to anyone who has used a jib crane before, how hard is it to move the crane up close to the column?

I was looking at making a traction motor setup for the rotation, any drawbacks in my thinking?

Any help would be appreciated, total newb when it comes to cranes.

Kevin

You have to think about "sway" of the workload, as long as the pivot has good bearings you should be able to maneuver the load itself, while maintaining its stability in motion. Under a ton is not that much. If it's a new installation be damn sure the mast was anchored correctly.

You have to think about "sway" of the workload, as long as the pivot has good bearings you should be able to maneuver the load itself, while maintaining its stability in motion. Under a ton is not that much. If it's a new installation be damn sure the mast was anchored correctly.

I did the install myself, I need to grout the base and level the mast yet then install the arm. I installed it per the drawings and specs from the manufacturer, 6' x 6' x 4' concrete cube with rebar and 12 3/4 j bolts attached to a rebar frame, this was all done when my new floor was done.

My biggest concern is when I have a relatively light light load on the arm close to the jib, will it be difficult getting the arm to move? I guess I will have to try it and see what happens......

Kevin