What's new
What's new

Share your machinery move pictures.

tlkent

Plastic
Hello,

I am revising training documents for instructing workers on how to move machines and equipment in a manufacturing environment. I have discovered that there are very few pictures available; perhaps because shop owners do not like having photographers wander around their business. There are plenty of images showing professional riggers lifting huge objects with large cranes and specialized equipment, but the only useful pictures for my purpose were found in these forum pages.

Thus, I am asking everyone to post any images showing the nitty-gritty of lifting, moving, and setting down a machine.

My work is for-profit. Therefore, I must get permission from the owner of the picture to use their artwork. In return, each page displaying the image will bear an attribute crediting the owner or the owner's company.

A little bit about me:
I am a professional engineer that has worked around machining my entire life. I worked in my father's basement tool&die shop until I went off to college. Those childhood experiences have allowed me to not only make better designs, they have also allowed me to machine some of the prototype parts that I had developed.

Lastly, I have yet to read through the rules of this forum; I may have broken some rule about soliciting work or what-not. I hope that this community can forgive breaking such a rule. After all, I am asking for help educating the next generation of machinists, millwrights, and riggers.

Machinery rigging equipment is a bit specialized, but it's not uncommon.

There are a lot of variables in what you're asking for. Like how you move a machine from one part of a building to another is going to be different than if you need to load it on a lowboy and truck it across the country.

Often times cranes and rigger's forklifts are the only way to get the job done (because you have to load onto a truck).