What's new
What's new

"truck mast" type forklifts with really short masts... are they usually double stage?

Milacron

Administrator
Staff member
"truck mast" type forklifts with really short masts... are they usually double stage?

Like the one below. also can anyone confirm the cage height of 80.1" on a 4K capacity Toyota 7 series cushion tire lift like the one below ? (as I wait for Captain Obvious to suggest I ask the seller to measure it...) I need to get under 81"...so cutting it close.

(if curious where I got 80.1"....from a Toyota 7 series brochure in my files)

NEXTLIFT-937-04.jpg

I would say yes, but if you are trying to get over 50 inch fork height without ventilating the roof you may be in trouble......but I have no personal firsthand experience in these.... My gusssis this was the cheapest mast a leasing/rental fleet could equip for loading trucks in a warehousing giant. I have seen quite a few like this on ebay/ craigslist lately.

I don't have any experience with that specific model but I have worked with a couple short mast forklifts. They're designed to work in
larger vans and containers so mast height isn't as critical as your application. On all the ones I remember the top of the mast exceeded
the height of the the cage. Unless the second stage mast on the forklift in the photo is quite a bit shorter than the first stage I'd say that
it's going to be above cage height if you raise the forks to 50"...

I don't have any experience with that specific model but I have worked with a couple short mast forklifts. They're designed to work in
larger vans and containers so mast height isn't as critical as your application. On all the ones I remember the top of the mast exceeded
the height of the the cage. Unless the second stage mast on the forklift in the photo is quite a bit shorter than the first stage I'd say that
it's going to be above cage height if you raise the forks to 50"...