What's new
What's new

Worse than neglected, abused forklift battery...

greenbuggy

Stainless
I get all the fun jobs...

I'm no forklift mechanic but I like to think I'm descent at electrical stuff. Have a customer whose old Baker forklift started acting funny, their idiot employee got under the dash with what was undoubtedly a Harbor Freight wire snips and $20 worth of parts and ~6 hours of rehab later I finally have all wiring back to "functional" as well as "protected from the environment".

So in the meantime he has decided to change his business model and is going to sell this forklift + charger and some other equipment he owns. After getting it back to runnable condition I moved it and discover battery is near-dead. Plug charger in to give it a charge (charger is a 36V 20 Amp charger as per data plate), I discover that the charger isn't actually charging, rectifier inside is dead. Replace rectifier, discover that the 15 minute countdown timer that is supposed to shut it off is also toast and never actually shuts the charger off. Le sigh. Just ordered a new one from eBay. Also checked the batteries and topped all the cells off with water where needed.

So with that said, I've tried charging the battery for a couple of 15 minute cycles the last couple of days, and the battery is taking something of a charge (at least the voltage gauge on the dash says it is and it'll move again) but after 15 minutes the amp gauge on the charger is still reading 25+ amps. I would normally expect the amp gauge to fall off when the battery has reached some sort of charge, but I don't know electric forklifts well enough to know how many 15 minute cycles that a full charge ought to take or how far apart these 15 minute cycles are supposed to be spaced.