What's new
What's new

Living the dream, the start of my prototyping shop.

kstone

Aluminum
I have always dreamed of running my own CNC machine shop. I was able to realize that dream last September and started down the road of opening up my own business. I am currently in school for manufacturing technology and am loving every minute of it. I have an idea of the direction I want to take the shop and will start out as a prototyping shop and see where it goes. I spend most of my time in Solidworks doing freelance design work. I have always been more interested in having the ability to make my designs into reality. A few years ago I built my first CNC machine, a 3x4 Plasma table in my small two car garage. That was a great learning experience and the table has been extremely reliable. I have never worked in a machine shop before and have no prior experience running CNC machines. That is why I chose manufacturing technology because I want to learn how to make all the things that I can design. I never thought I would be where I am today a few years ago. Back then my goal was to save up enough money to buy Bridgeport mill and convert it to CNC. The past three years I have been doing freelance design work on the side and that has really paid off. I found that I am pretty damn good at it and some of my designs have made it to market. Last year I took the plunge and found some rental space and started turning it into what I wanted my shop to be. I built out an office and started researching CNC machines. When this all started back in September I had very limited knowledge of CNC mills and lathes, I had no idea what manufactures to look at budget wise and what a slant bed lathe was. I learned a ton in a short period of time thanks to this site. I knew I wanted to go ahead and get a VMC and Lathe right off the bat. That way I could start out doing some pretty complicated stuff and also be able to do small production runs if needed. I ended up with a '92 Fadal 4020 and an '89