What's new
What's new

Can a granite plate be calibrated vs another granite late?

pcm81

Cast Iron
I am going to purchase an 18x12 pink granite grade A starrett plate. I have a 6x18 black stone plate that I am using now. I would like to "check" my current black stone (its not the real granite, its the cheap crappy black stone (Woodriver brand), what ever it's called) plate against the starrett, to continue using the 6x18 plate as my working plate and use the starrett as an inspection only plate. Is there a "proper" technique to checking one plate vs the other. My worry would be the 6x18 plate scratching the 12x18 starrett, since it is also a "hard" rock rather than "soft" metal...

If I am crazy and this should not be done, just say so. I admit, I am a total newb.

When I want to check the flatness of a surface, the simplest way is to invert the second surface and set it on risers above your calibrated surface plate. Use whatever you have for height, and adjust or shim as necessary to get matching height. I had 2-3-5 blocks I usually used, but jacks, 1-2-3 blocks, or parallels can work as well. You just have to be able to get your instruments and hand in the space.

As GBent states, using the Starrett plate as the reference for indicating the surface of the black plate is a good way to start out. I would use a .0001 indicator on a height gage or transfer stand to give the indicator a stable large footprint. There are also methods for using bluing to check the surfaces by direct contact, although this is typically done in machinery reconditioning processes with granite plate and the cast iron machine parts. Reading info in the "machinery Reconditioning" forum may provide some ideas in this regard. Cleanliness is key in this arena.