What's new
What's new

CMM programming

Ove

Plastic
Hi!

I'm a mechanical student from Norway.
This semester I'm writing a thesis about CMM programming.

I don't know if I understand the differences between online and offline programming.

For me it seems like the only difference is that in offline programming
you do the programming without the part.

Can someone please tell me the principles and the differences with online and offline programming of CMM?

Thank you in advance!:)

Best regards Ove

Usually online means you write the program on the same computer that is controlling the machine. Offline is done on another computer with a second seat of the software.

Off-line programming allows you to continue writting programs while the CMM is being productive measuring parts.

SBL9A

Many fine lines in the definition.
A oversimplification but:
Online - You drive the machine around with a joystick or such and "teach" it where you want to measure.
Offline- You write code around the expected part shape and then hope you don't rip the probe off the arm when someone else loads your code and runs it.

Online - The machine is not making money while you program it.
Offline - The machine eats lots of money if you make a small mistake.

Online- You pay someone to sit in front of the mega buck machine writing a program.
Offline- You talk your wiz kids into programming the machine at home rather than playing with their video games.
Bob

It appears that we are finally getting some substance to the subject. How about some PM members that actually have some expertise in the use of programmable CMM's respond. Maybe then the OP can get some answers that he can use.

Lord Byron

Have you ever used a CMM?

Leigh-

Go to the metrology section of this forum, and do a search for the word MICROVAL. On the first page of 25 posts, 18 of the posts had comments by me. These comments attest to my credentials.

Lord Byron