What's new
What's new

Which CMM for students?

mcctd

Plastic
I am looking for thoughts on which machine to purchase based on the current software. We are looking at small CMM's from Hexagon, Mitutoyo, and Zeiss. I have talked to other instructors and have heard that Hexagon's PC-Demis has a steep learning curve. Another really likes Zeiss with Calipso. I have no feedback on Mitutoyo. I have talked to sales people and of course theirs is the best. I understand that no software is perfect and all have their pitfalls. I have no experience with CMM but will be attending the training for the machine chosen.

What I am looking for from you experienced CMM folks is which would be best choice for Machine Tool Technology Students. It needs to be user friendly and have a fairly quick learning curve to get the basics of measurement and inspection. We want to give them a beginners exposure to CMM without frustrating or loosing them. Unfortunately, we also cannot spend an excessive amount of time to make experts of them. We know that whatever machine we choose is very unlikely to be the exact same one they use when they enter the workforce. And of course we know that is where their training will continue, where ever they go, for the rest of their career.

Thanks for the help.

IMO Software is the last thing you should be specializing on while teaching. You should instead focus on basic alignment practices, advanced alignment, proper measurement practices, and the fundamentals of metrology, etc. Just because you ram a probe into a hole, or feature and it goes beep, doesn't mean it was a proper measurement...... etc.