What's new
What's new

Which Depth Mic to Buy

Whatley

Cast Iron
I have a new guy who wants to buy a new Depth Mic.

All of my inspection tools are Mitutoyo, and I pretty much stick to that. If I could find an Etalon or such I would grab it, but Mitutoyo is pretty easy to find.

So I am saying: Grab a Mechanical Mitutoyo Depth Mic.

He wants a Fowler Digital Mic.

Fowler is cheaper, and he wants to not have to add stuff up, and just read a number.

I have no experience with Fowler, anyone have anything good or bad to say about it or a recommendation for depth mics?

Fowler Digital Depth Mic
Mitutoyo Digital Depth Mic
Mitutoyo Mechanical Depth Mic

In my sample set of lots of mitutoyo and a few fowler, the fowler stuff is sort of kind of OK, but is cheesy by comparison.

Mitutoyo stuff always works, and anything mechanical from Starret also always works.

Whatley,

I use the Mitutoyo Digital Depth Micrometer with the non-electronic readout. It's fully mechanical and works well.

If he "just wants to read a number" then this might work. Cheaper than the electronic types and very rugged. I did not see them on the
Mitutoyo website but I got mine off ebay.

Chuck
Burbank, CA

Last edited:
I find it not that easy to get .0000 measurements with any depth micrometer (.0005 is not easy) so getting less than the guy wants might give an excuse fora less than perfect job.

"He wants a Fowler Digital Mic." That is an OK tool and it will read just as good as the Mitutoyo for a time.

Accuracy (Decimal Inch) 0.000120 on a good day with the moon in the right phase and only with a warm light south breeze

Another option is to see if you can find a used Starrett. I lucked out a year ago and bought everything a retired machinist had, tool boxes, mikes, etc, and wound up with a 20-year old Starrett depth mike set. The cal lab said they are virtually unused, and they passed certification just fine.