What's new
What's new

Granite Surface Plate Specs Bernardo (EU - AT)

made2hack

Plastic
Hello all,

Does anyone have any experience with Bernardo branded granite surface plates? This company is an Austrian importer of Chinese made tools. They have a 630mm x 400mm x 100mm (24" x 16" x 4") granite surface plate however offer no specs on it.

They don't specify the DIN 876 precision or any for that matter.

All I know is that it is a Chinese import. How "sh*tty" could it be? Or how imprecise could it be? Can I assume it has the worst DIN specs and it could be off by as much as 50+ um?

I added the link below for you to have a look at:

Hartgestein-Mess- und Prufplatte 63 x 4 x 1 mm - Granit surface plates - Measuring tools - Accessories metal working - Metal - Bernardo

Thank you,

Hi,

Firstly I'm definitely not a machinist; I'm a hobbyist who enjoys meddling with mechanical items.

I bought a small Chinese granite surface plate some years ago, 300mm x 200mm x 60mm. It was new, and on offer at a sale, and came in a very cheap timber walled crate, and to my surprise had a "map" showing the surface errors. The plate was nicely finished, but the problem was that neither the map nor the plate had any means of indicating which end was which, so the map wasn't any use, even if my work had been to that level of accuracy.

Good luck in your search.

Optimum (German china junk importer) specifies their similar plate as DIN 876/0
Optimum Mess- und Prufplatte

Plate or "certificate" probably don't have serial numbers and appear to be photocopies "of some plate" if it's anything like others..

Hello all,

Does anyone have any experience with Bernardo branded granite surface plates? This company is an Austrian importer of Chinese made tools. They have a 630mm x 400mm x 100mm (24" x 16" x 4") granite surface plate however offer no specs on it.