What's new
What's new

Keyence Handheld Probe CMM

Ox

Diamond
Had one of these stop by on it's tour around today.

DSCN1692_zpsh9fydiqb.jpg

Apparently it's little sister made it to IMTS, but I didn't see it.

This thing is pretty slick in that there are no scales, motors, or anything other than optics. There is a pick-up unit (?) in the hood above, and it sees the move-able in X and C platform and the hand-held unit.

Said to be good down to three tenths.

I've never used a "real" CMM before, but I have looked at and drooled over the Faro Arms (Guage really) and this works the same, but way more accurate.

I was really going to be impressed if I could set it on the bed of Big Bertha and probe a part still in the chuck, but you can't swing the hand-held probe the other direction as the hood needs to see the front side of it at all times. So that wasn't going to work....

VERY portable unit, VERY shop-floor friendly!

I don't have a need for a unit like this right now, but if I needed a CMM, I would very much consider this unit. I would think that it is likely much faster than a mechanized CMM. (???)

I have looked at their shadow-graph / optic style before for a certain app that didn't pan out, but this is a completely different deal.

However - I'm afraid that an Arm or Rover is likely more up my alley yet, but those just don't have much resolution accuracy.

I will be interested to see where this concept expands into in the next 5 years!

A Coordinate Measuring Machine on a Whole New Level | KEYENCE America

[disclaimer]

Sorry if this has already been posted before. I seldom check this board.

[/disclaimer]

----------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

A version of this you could somehow turn around, so as to apply it to parts in the machine, or existing objects (some interface on a vehicle you are trying to match, say) would seem a no-brainer. (But I don't have to make it....)

Did they give you a notion of the price Ox?

50 K