What's new
What's new

New CMM decision time!

Mr.Bronze

Cast Iron
Hey, I got a new question for everyone!

I am going to pull the trigger on a new portable type CMM.
We have demoed a Faro arm in the past, it seemed nice, but I bet there isn't that much difference between brands, the brains of the machines were probably all made in the same chip fab anyways.

So, my question is -
Anyone have a good dealer in the MN region that provides CMMs and related products and service?

I have a full version of mastercam, and would prefer to keep my metrology and Q/C integrated with that, rather than having additional stand-alone programs/file systems. (this is not a discussion on the merits of MC vs other CAM programs, so keep it to yourself if that's all that you have to offer).

The problem is, my VAR for Mastercam, only offers a 4' Romer arm. I feel that this is too small, we commonly make parts in the 24"x 48" range (large bushings) and those are traditionally the most pain in the ass to measure, particularly while in the machine.
The Faro arm that was demoed at the shop was a 9' arm, and it seemed it could cover all of our medium parts without being obtuse, and could measure all of the large parts without stretching.

I know I can just plop the CMM arm on a mount inside the machine, inside the part even; but I don't think a 4' arm can do everything it needs to on a 36" dia x 20" tall bushing, without getting crafty.

And needing to get crafty is a big what I am trying to put a stop, by getting a CMM.
Mostly it's to put an end to garbage parts going out, and to end arguments by customers about whether or not a part was in spec when it left. Trace-ability! hooray! Thin wall bronze bushings are hilariously floppy.

Any thoughts on resellers/brands/sizes?

I'll be putting up a "New machine day" post as soon as I can get the details hashed out, (and my chips sold)

Thanks,
Adam