What's new
What's new

Please help small science shop measure 90" plus parts

Gravelbar

Aluminum
I'm owner of a small biz; we make and sell science instruments worldwide but run on a shoestring.

Little River Research & Design

We need to accurately measure a part that's ~96 long; to around 0.1" We know how to measure small parts -- can ya'll help with this one?

Right now we tape down a tape measure on the one inch mark, on scribed lines, and use that.

I suspect there is a better way; I'm trained as a surveyor, I can measure miles accurately, but can't figure this out, thanks.

Steveem4x metrics.jpg

What type of measurements are you taking? Just overall lengths or 3D point positions? Contours, hole locations, etc...?

Based on the tolerances you stated a CMM would be over kill. However maybe some nice chap near you would do the measurement for a lunch or something. I know I would if had one and were near you; ya can never have too much good karma!

Draw wire encoder (aka string encoder) connected to the DRO of your choice.

With what appears to be a somewhat small product line on your site; any reason you couldn't just make up cutting jigs for each product part?

The measurements you are performing are using the very same method many (MANY) shops would use for this size part. You can maybe upgrade a little bit if you have a nicely-graduated straight ruler, which you can then couple with a combination square as a "slider" for perhaps some added accuracy (assuming you can set everything up on a reasonably flat table for ease of use). For tolerance as you state, assumed to be +/- .050", I would be doing what you are doing now.

Here's a couple of options:

Steel Rules | MSCDirect.com

ASE-96 96" Straight Edge Aluminum Rule

http://www.swissprec.com/cgi/ISSRIT2?pmaka=12-421-4&pmctlg=01�