What's new
What's new

Recomendations for a "starter" dial test indicator

Caldude53

Plastic
I am a retired machinist who left the industry about 10 years ago. Now I am establishing a garage shop. I still have many of the tools I used before, but I sold off all my dial test indicators. I want to buy a Mitutoyo but they have so many models, I don't know which one to get. Any recommendations for a general purpose Mitutoyo dial test indicator model would be greatly appreciated! :confused:

Also, I've seen many Mitutoyo DTIs offered on eBay, but that are of Chinese origin. I suspect they could be counterfeits. Any knowledge, experience or comments on this subject?

Thanks!
Sam

Don't buy Japanese stuff from Chiniese vendors, they're still pissed about the Rape of Nanking, and some other history - no way they'd be selling jap stuff.

As for indicators all I can say is this, a zero is a zero no matter how cheap the tool so long as it's smooth. If you need something tighter than that in your garage you'd have to be on another level of hobby craft beyond your everyday chipmaker.

Any of the older made in Japan Mitutoyo will be a good tool. I just bought a 20mm travel big dial Mitutoyo on Ebay - in a very good shape for about $30.00.
"Tessa" is (or was...) another good (Swiss) make. "Mahr" makes excellent metrology tools and you can find their dial indicators used for reasonable price. "Federal" was making good indicators and those were a standard in many shops.
I would not recommend a digital dial indicator. Not only you dependant on batteries (some rather expensive, like the one in "Maxμm"), but it is much more informative to see the change indicated by a pointer rather than jumping number or lines. This is especially true when checking roundness or setting up parts in a lathe or mill.