What's new
What's new

Thread gages

litlerob

Hot Rolled
So as some of you know I am a machinist that pretends to be QC when our guy is out. Our guy is not out at the moment, but has brought a new quality standard to the business. From now on when we check thread depth we need to measure the over all length of the thread gage, zero our caliper (or do a little math with dial or vernier calipers) and measure the remainder of the gage once bottomed out in the hole. Okay fine, company policy. Here's the kicker, he doesn't want the tapered tips ground off, they are to be included in the final hole depth. INCLUDING the no go end of the gage. Does ANYONE do this, EVER?

Robert

There are a few methods, most are approximate at best. We tend to treat all thread depths as minimum dimensions. Even the best CNC machinery floats a bit on the tapping depth. IMO +/- .030" is not unusual.

The method I use is to measure from then end of the gauge (the tip of the no-go side) to the first thread on the go side. All gauges I have seen have a higbey (SP?) thread on the go side. This part relies on some eyeballing. I record that number. Then I screw it into the thread until it bottoms. I measure from the end to the top of the part. The difference in the measurements is your thread depth.

The other method is to screw the gauge in until it bottoms. Then back it out and count the number of turns. The total number of turns times the thread pitch gives the depth. This method does not account for the lead in chamfer. It does not work for ports or other things with large chamfers.

The best method is to have the gauge made with a notch for the thread depth. However, that is limited to just one measurement.

I'm still trying to train our lead man that .005" shallow on a thread depth is not a reason to panic. At least he is checking...