What's new
What's new

Verifying Gage Block Buildups

JoshJay

Plastic
Hey guys, I need a bit of input here. This is my first time posting BTW! So I have taken over as the main tech in charge of setting up gages, calibration, purchasing ect.. The past techs were using an old NUMEREX CMM to double check they had the correct blocks.. I have elected to use a caliper as it is nearly 3 times as accurate (.001") (yeah the NUMEREX is that bad)Now the heat is on because of the resolution of the caliper is so low (.0005"). We do have 3 other B&S performer CMM's but those are typically checking parts, it would take too much time to wait and manually check the blocks... I double and triple check everything before assembling my stacks. so onto my question--> what do you guys do to verify gage block buildups???

Hey guys, I need a bit of input here. This is my first time posting BTW! So I have taken over as the main tech in charge of setting up gages, calibration, purchasing ect.. The past techs were using an old NUMEREX CMM to double check they had the correct blocks.. I have elected to use a caliper as it is nearly 3 times as accurate (yeah the NUMEREX is that bad)Now the heat is on because of the resolution of the caliper is so high. We do have 3 other B&S performer CMM's but those are typically checking parts, it would take too much time to wait and manually check the blocks... I double and triple check everything before assembling my stacks. so onto my question--> what do you guys do to verify gage block buildups???
i double check math by using gage block ends and use a .0001 indicating bore gage set to a ring gage so then check gage block stack and should agree within .0001. in theory you can measure .00005" but it is difficult to get repeatability to .00005"