What's new
What's new

10EE taper attachment instructions

Jim Mooney

Plastic
I'm fairly new to lathes...about a year of hacking and trying to figure out things on my own, making small masters for pewter castings made in vulcanized rubber molds (for HO trains).
Anyway...we have a 10EE (1952 vintage) at work I have been cleaing up and getting running and I started to clean up the taper attachment. I figured I could figure out how it worked by taking it apart, cleaning up the the dials, and scales, putting it back together, and....well that didn't help...can I get some help explaining how it works? thanks in advance...

The thread which begins Here will take you from external views to the patent drawings themselves.

There are non-telescopic as well as telescopic taper attachments, and a search of this Forum should turn up some supplementary information.

OK, assuming that you have a '52 square dial there's a couple of spots to look at. On the cross slide there should be a square head bolt in front of the compound - that locks the cross slide to the taper drawbar. The drawbar is the bar that the cross slide nut is attached to on the rear of the cross slide, and the drawbar is normally locked by the nut on the back of the taper attachment (it's chrome with 2 flats, takes a 9/16 wrench).

In normal operation the drawbar is locked on the back of the taper attachment, and loose on the cross slide. When the cross feed screw is operated it draws the cross slide and slides the lock over the drawbar.

In operation the drawbar is locked to the cross slide by locking the drawbar clamp screw in front of the compound, and allowed to be moved buy the shoe in the taper by unlocking the drawbar clamp on the back of the taper attachment. Once this is done the bar that holds the taper slide fixed relative to the bed can be locked using the bed clamp, and when the carriage is moved up and down the bed the cross slide will follow the shoe moving in the taper slide.