What's new
What's new

1963 Three tube works in a drawer not running right New novice here...

dsbortz

Plastic
Hi Folks;
I have an ex Lucent Technologies 6-63 vintage serial 46201, 10ee. It recently started to wander on spindle speed. Not sure why, but gave a call to Monarch and they said test the leads for T-4 and see if I have 270 volts...

While looking saw only one tube was firing on the left side... the one on the right side was really black and I couldn't see any blue glow... I have a spare pair of tubes and thought I would try and replace the dark one... fired it up and speed went from 200 previously to 2000 now and the tube I replaced fired on the right, but the one on the left stayed off... and when I tried to reduce speed it wouldn't run any slower than 1500 rpm.

Took the back cover off, and found the 31-32 lead and only had 30 volts ac across them...
Sounds like my T4 is shot...

Anyone else ever have problems like this ? Does the T4 transformer fire the tubes ?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated as I am really a novice electrician...
Thanks

At 66 views and no help, I think what you have for a control is Not a works in a drawer.

Posting some pictures will help us identify what you really do have.

Hi Folks;
I have an ex Lucent Technologies 6-63 vintage serial 46201, 10ee. It recently started to wander on spindle speed. Not sure why, but gave a call to Monarch and they said test the leads for T-4 and see if I have 270 volts...

While looking saw only one tube was firing on the left side... the one on the right side was really black and I couldn't see any blue glow... I have a spare pair of tubes and thought I would try and replace the dark one... fired it up and speed went from 200 previously to 2000 now and the tube I replaced fired on the right, but the one on the left stayed off... and when I tried to reduce speed it wouldn't run any slower than 1500 rpm.