What's new
What's new

5 hp DC motor stall low rpm

brushpile90

Aluminum
I have a 1971 10ee that I have been working on for several months. I finally got the tube drive system working correctly and have been using the lathe a little bit. Today I was doing some work and was surprised to find that I was able to stall the motor out. I did it unintentionally but was surprised by it. My back gear is noisy so I was running in open belt, only at about 200-400 rpm parting a piece. I must admit that I didn't set up the tool 100% correctly as I was only parting 3/8" wall tubing 2 1/4" OD. The tool was a little cocked, more than I thought and ended up rubbing quite a bit. I guess it makes sense at low rpms that it would potentially stall, but I keep reading "constant torque" and I guess I thought it would have full power down to the lower rpms. I guess I should be using the back gear when doing moderate work at the lower rpms. Any comments or past experience with this?

It seems to have good power at higher rpms. The max cut I have taken is .050 off diameter, or .025 DOC. Seemed to be fine, I know that's not all that heavy. Could it be an issue with the compensation pot?

First and most important is what type motor shunt series compound etc. I would guess shunt since that is the most prevalent motor in "smaller" industry.

Yes a motor can deliver up to its full rated torque to meet torque demanded by the load at low speeds HOWEVER if your load is demanding too much torque the motor will become overloaded with possible (probable) overheating. slowing and eventually stall. This sounds like your situation.

Dan Bentler

Well I turned the compensation pot about 1/8 of a turn and it seemed better today.