What's new
What's new

Help with old lathe and info

I just bought a monarch lathe that obviously used to be a pole belt fed machine. It is a quick change gear model serial number under the tail-stock is 11417. It has been retrofitted with a 3/4 hp 1720rpm sinhle phase motor and a Ramsey Model A Ford 1MS transmission. I am new to metal lathes and machining so any information would really help on this. The main things I know are what I stated and that is is 36" between centers. I have a bunch of extra change gears and two extra four tooth chucks and a three tooth on it. It has a back gear setup for threading. I am not sure what the far right knob and lever controls on the cross slide. I know the lateral turn wheel, cross wheel, and half nut engagement knob. But there is a knob to the right of the half nut that loosens and moves up and you tighten it again and can go down again to the original position. And the far right lever moves up or down. Help with these would be great and if anyone has a change gear template they could send me for thread gears and main set upthat would be nice too. I plan to take this lathe apart, strip the paint, prime/paint fresh, lube and reassemble. Then I will enjoy using it... hopefully! I did make sure that it ran and changed into all gears on transmission before I bought it but I cannot find this type setup anywhere to get info. Thanks everyone for help in advance! Also I am new to this forum as well.

Attachments

• IMG_20140610_140842_371.jpg
    IMG_20140610_140842_371.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_20140610_140816_409.jpg
    IMG_20140610_140816_409.jpg
    92.1 KB · Views: 217
  • IMG_20140610_140825_296.jpg
    IMG_20140610_140825_296.jpg
    83.1 KB · Views: 198
  • IMG_20140607_120642_941.jpg
    IMG_20140607_120642_941.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 203
  • IMG_20140610_140805_922.jpg
    IMG_20140610_140805_922.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 173