What's new
What's new

Just bought Old Monarch lathe to restore.

Weerry

Plastic
Hello Everyone on PM. My name is Derek. I recently bought an old Monarch lathe. I just want to say I am not a expert machinist by any means. But I am a professional Welder and own my own business. I do have machining experience. I came here to learn more about the craft and to learn more about restoring this old piece of machinery. I chose PM to be able to learn from the best, the old timers that have been doing this line of work before i was even born.

Resized_20170916_182522.jpgResized_20170916_182512.jpgResized_20170916_182445.jpgResized_20170916_182455.jpgResized_20170916_182529.jpg

I am still trying to locate serial numbers for the machine. I can already tell that the cross slide in going to need a new nut and screw made for it lots of play. Estimating 0.070 to 0.100 of play haven't indicated it yet.

I know these older plain bearing lathes used oil cup. Some one at some point put a grease zerk on the rear bearing and filled it full of grease. Im pretty sure that is not factory at all? My plan for the machine is to get it torn down and cleaned really good to inspect it. I only paid $800 for it.

What size motor should be on these? There is a brand new 1 1/2 HP 3650RPM motor on it now. It spins way to fast even in low gear on the drive transmission from the quick power up I did when I bought it. I will post pictures as I go along.

And i posted some pictures of some of my work.

20140109_162508.jpg120811950000.jpg20150712_102245.jpg20150919_110003.jpg20150919_110026.jpg

Thanks for the welcome and the link. I found that here in an old post and have been reading though it. Most of the Taper attachment is there just missing the Bar and the Half Dog. I will get more pictures today when i go to the shop.

Some one at some point put a grease zerk on the rear bearing and filled it full of grease