What's new
What's new

Just joined the 10EE club.

Boxelder

Aluminum
Serial number 6642 purchased yesterday from user "beemerphile". Pretty much all that needs to be said about this particular unit has already been covered in this old thread:

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/monarch-lathes/10ee-round-dial-square-169863/

I'm new to the 10EE. Is there anyone making new compound and cross-slide nuts? The ones on this machine have seen better days.

It's got a "Torq-matic" motor conversion installed, has anyone seen this before?

If anyone has some favorite links to the special care and feeding required by these fine machines, I'll gladly take them.

She's got some wear on the ways, but less than I was expecting. Being almost 80 years old will do that to any machine. Looking forward to getting her home and setting her up.

Edit: add link to pictures file from beemerphile

https://beemerphile.smugmug.com/SOLD/Monarch-10EE/i-vMsNsvx/A

Last edited:
It's got a "Torq-matic" motor conversion installed, has anyone seen this before?
The components of it have been seen in other conversions, yes.

I'd need the full info off the controller to confirm the controller's actual OEM.
If it is the one I suspect, I probably have a manual for it here as .pdf.

There are modern DC Drives of better capability, still available new as well as used.

As a DC Drive upgrade is easy, what is even more important is the motor itself. The former Sundstrand (hydraulic final-drive) machines have limited space in their base castings, hence narrow choice of electric final-drive motors, DC OR AC.

What the present motor "is" dictates the sort of drive current and voltages needed.

If the motor nameplate cannot be read with phone-camera or mirrors or 'rubbings', then it is well-worth PULLING to lay eyeball on the nameplate. You need to know what you are dealing with.